Print

 

POSTPONED

due to TUC advice on Coronavirus

venue Unite Office, 6 Victoria Square, Wolverhampton WV1 1LD next to bus station, over bridge from train station

Wolverhampton, Bilston & District Trades Union Council Delegate Meeting starts 7-15pm

at 8pm:

presentation of the Institute of Employment Rights' new publication

by Dr Grace Millar UCU:

soc mediaSocial Media and the Law

 

Minutes of last delegate meeting

Secretary’s report

 

starts 7:15pm all trade union supporters welcome

Agenda:

  1. Welcome & introductions to delegates & visitors + apologies

  2. Minutes of last Delegate Meeting (Feb) & Matters Arising

  3. EC Report & correspondence

  4. Reports/discussions:

  1. delegate reports: CWU, FBU, PCS, RMT, UCU, UNISON, UNITE, LP etc

  2. TU responses to Coronavirus threat

c) WBDTUC Secretary's report - Bro Kelleher

d) Wolverhampton Palestine Solidarity - Bro Deacon

e) Celebrate the Bus - Midlands TUC Pensioners' Network - Bro Deacon

5.

    5.  at 8pm

presentation of the Institute of Employment Rights' new publication

by Dr Grace Millar UCU:

Social Media and the Law - how workers can be affected by soc media

https://morningstaronline.co.uk/article/f/careless-use-social-media-easy-way-lose-your-job

 

 6. any other business

tea/coffee etc available at meetings courtesy of UNITE the union

------------------------

new rules agreed AGM 2020: see https://wolvestuc.org.uk/index.php/wbdtuc/rules

 -------------------------------------------------------

future DELEGATE MEETINGS and EVENTS in 2020, we meet the 3rd Thursday each month @7-15pm venue Unite Office, 6 Victoria Square, Wolverhampton WV1 1LD next to bus station, over bridge from train station

WB&DTUC Executive Committee meetings 2020 (all dates are Wednesdays at 7.30pm): 8 January 2020; 12 Feb; 11 March; 8 April; 13 May; 10 June; 8 July; 9 September; 7 October; 11 November; 9 December 2020

 

EVENTS in 2020 

Thurs 19 March, 7:15pm WB&DTUC Delegate meeting 
Fri 20 March deadline for festival applications www.wolvestuc.org.uk
Thurs 16 April, 7:15pm WB&DTUC Delegate meeting
Tues 28 April, 12:30pm  Workers’ Memorial Day by cenotaph, St Peter’s Square, Wolverhampton WV1 1TS
Fri 1 May, 7 - 11pm  Workers’ Day, Pegasus Pub, Craddock St. WV6 0QQ
Thurs 21 May, 7:15pm WB&DTUC Delegate meeting
Thurs 18 June, 7:15pm WB&DTUC Delegate meeting
Sat 4 July, from 11am  Women Chainmakers’ Festival at High Street, Cradley Heath B64
Thurs 16 July, 7:15pm WB&DTUC Delegate meeting
Sun 19 July from 2pm  Wodenstock - trade unions in the community festival Wednesfield Amphitheatre  tbc
There is no August Delegate meeting of WB&DTUC
Sun 6 September, Burston School, strike rally, 3 free places sponsored by WB&DTUC each year; contact us 
Thurs 17 September, 7:15pm WB&DTUC Delegate meeting
Thurs 15 October, 7:15pm WB&DTUC Delegate meeting
Thurs 19 November, 7:15pm WB&DTUC Delegate meeting
Thurs 17 December 2020, 7:15pm WB&DTUC Delegate meeting
 
All WB&DTUC meetings are held at the UNITE office,
 Victoria Square WV1 1LD (next to Sainsbury’s Local)
 

 

Previous activities 

2020
Thurs 20 February, WB&DTUC Delegate meeting - How to have an organising conversation TUC Education ♥UNIONS webinar
TUC ♥Unions week: 
Fri 14 February, Wolverhampton market
Sun 9 February, Bilston Market stall

Sat  8 February,  Wednesfield High St

Thurs 16 January 2020, Annual General Meeting WB&DTUC speaker on India's anti-muslim laws

2019:

Thurs 19 Dec Delegeate meeting and social

Thursday  21st November WB&DTUC Delegate meeting speaker Eileeen Turnbill Shrewsbur 24 campaign

Thursday 17th October WB&DTUC Delegate meeting - UNITE speaker on HS2 

Thursday 19th September WB&DTUC Delegate meeting

Thursday 18th July WB&DTUC Delegate meeting

 Sunday 14th July WODENSTOCK  3-6pm Amphitheatre Wednesfield
 Thursday 20th June WB&DTUC Delegate meeting  speaker on national Trades Union Council Conference by our delegate, Bob Simm PCS 

Thursday 16th May WB&DTUC Delegate meeting with speaker Grace Millar UCU on her research into British Mining post nationalisation

Wednesday 1st May, 7pm Workers’ Day @ Pegasus WV6 0QQ

Sunday 28th April Workers’ Memorial Day 12.30pm @cenotaph/Workers’ Memorial Day Tree, W’ton

Thursday 18th April WB&DTUC Delegate meeting with speaker Dr Francisco Domínguez National Secretary Venezuela Solidarity Campaign

 Thursday 21st March WB&DTUC Delegate meeting with speaker Lee Barron Secretary Midlands TUC; presentation of TUC Silver Badge of Merit for long service to our President Marie Taylor and Vice  President Rob Marris

Thursday 21st February WB&DTUC Delegate meeting  with speaker from Police Spies Out of Lives, a campaigning support group working to achieve an end to the sexual and psychological abuse of campaigners and others by undercover police officers.

Heart unions week 9/10 Feb campaigninng with flowers in Wednesfiels & Bilston

AGM 17 Jan 2019 we showed The Plan 30min film of the pioneering effort by workers at the arms-related company Lucas Aerospace, to defend their jobs by proposing alternative, socially-useful applications of the company’s technology and their own skills.